Is Butter Gluten-Free?

There are more and more people today who are realizing that they can’t tolerate gluten in their diet. If you or someone in your family is one of them, you may understandably have some questions about foods that are or are not gluten free.

This question is quite common from those who have celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Read on to learn whether butter is safe to use if you have gluten tolerance issues.

Is Butter Gluten Free?


In short, plain butter is usually gluten-free. Margarine and butter are not usually made from grain, but some butter contains additives that could contain traces of gluten.

Butter will have gluten or not, depending on what process the manufacturers use. Organic butter usually does not include gluten. Some gluten-free brands include;

  • Earth Balance
  • Organic Valley
  • Land O’ Lakes
  • Smart Balance

It certainly doesn’t take long to check the labels on butter products before you buy.

A couple foods to watch for, which may include butter but also hidden gluten in other ingredients:

  • Frozen vegetables in a sauce – It sounds easy to grab a bag or box of frozen veggies and pop it in the microwave for a quick side dish for dinner. Be sure to check out the ingredients – many sauces contain gluten products.
  • Foods that are labeled “wheat free” – Although gluten is found in wheat, it is also found in other grains and combinations, and these include rye, spelt and barley. “Wheat free” does not equal “Gluten free”.

Celiac Disease and Gluten

Many people wonder, “Is butter gluten-free?” It’s an important question, if their bodies can’t tolerate gluten.

Gluten at its most basic is a protein mixture that is found in wheat and some other grains, including barley and rye. Gluten gives dough more elasticity and chewy texture, along with a proper shape.

If you suffer from celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it affects your small intestine. Celiac disease may be passed on through families, so if someone else in your family has gluten intolerance, you may have it too, or develop it later in life.

Celiac Disease Symptoms

Not sure if you have celiac disease? Keep your eyes open for specific symptoms and speak with your physician to get confirmation. Here are some of the more common symptoms:

  • Skin rash after eating food with gluten
  • Digestive issues, including pale stools, weight loss, gas, diarrhea, abdominal bloating and pain
  • Musculoskeletal problems like bone pain, joint pain and muscle cramps
  • Iron deficiency anemia
  • Seizures
  • Tingling sensation in legs brought on by nerve damage and low calcium
  • Sores in your mouth
  • Missed periods for premenopausal women
  • Growth problems for children who have celiac disease

Other Foods that are Gluten Free

In addition to inquiring “Is butter gluten free?” you may enjoy other foods that don’t have gluten in them. They include:

  • Dairy products, like eggs, margarine, cream cheese, cottage cheese, milk and cream – Don’t eat processed cheese, since it may contain gluten.
  • Distilled alcohol is OK, but some beers contain gluten.
  • Desserts like egg custard, popsicles, whipped toppings, sherbet, sorbet and ice cream
  • Dessert mixes that are labeled gluten-free
  • Fish, meats and poultry are gluten free, too, but don’t eat foods that are breaded or marinated. (Marinades that are gluten-free are available now.)
  • Oils and nuts are healthy for you, since they contain no gluten.
  • Fresh vegetables and fruits
  • Frozen and canned fruits and vegetables unless the product contains additives or fillers
  • Fresh and dried herbs, onion powder, spices and garlic
Previous articleDry Nipples 
Next articleSwollen Nose


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here